ISSUE 16 - July/Aug 2015



• New hot water heater

• REMS Mini-Press

• The No-Touch Flush

• Caroma's New Range


• The Future of Plumbing

• New Apprentice Grants

• A Legionella Warning

• QLD Water Meter laws

• Australian WaterMark

• Gas Hot Water in NSW

• QLD master plumbers

• QLD industry awards

• Australian Standards


• What we've been up to


• This month's joke






The 2015 Plumbing & Gas Industry Awards was held recently in Queensland.


Over 530 people attended the black tie event at the Brisbane Hilton.


And the winners are...


Construction Skills Queensland Merv Harris Memorial Bursary Award
Winner: Michael Giles, James Giles Plumbing


Reece Apprentice of the Year
Winner: David Astill, Beavis & Bartels


Australian Industry Trade College School Based Apprentice of the Year
Winner: James Fallon, OS Plumbing

Hydraulic Consultants Award

AHSCA Qld Hydraulic Consultant of the Year
Winner: Jon Brown, ADG Engineers

Contractor Awards

CBUS Domestic and Residential Technical Award
Winner: Chris Jarvis Plumbing & Bathroom Renovations


Queensland Gas Association Domestic and Residential Gas Installation of the Year
Winner: 2P Plumbing


Queensland Gas Association Commercial and Industrial Gas Installation of the Year
Winner: James Giles Plumbing Pty Ltd


QLeave Commercial and Industrial Technical Award
Winner: Central Qld Plumbing


Services Trades Queensland Best Workplace Health and Safety Management System
Winner: Christopher Contracting Pty Ltd


Services Trades Queensland Best Onsite Innovation Award
Winner: PHP Contractors Pty Ltd


Department of Housing and Public Works Environmental Plumber of the Year
Winner: Cooke & Dowsett Pty Ltd


Natural Gas Business Starter Award
Winner: Chris O'Brien Plumbing & Gas Fitting

Individual Awards

The Service Trades College Industry Leadership Award
Winner: Kerry Apelt


simPRO Service Excellence Award
Winner: Queensland Plumbing & Civil Co


The Andrea Vogler Women in Business Award
Winner: Helen Robinson, Gainsite


The Queensland Building and Construction Commission Women in Plumbing & Gas Award
Winner: Angela Carr, Gasops Qld


The Tradelink Industry Mentor of the Year
Winner: Paul Pask


Congratulations to all winners!